

To: Chair and Members of the Welsh

Language Steering Committee

Date: 25 April 2018

Direct Dial: 01824 712589

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the WELSH LANGUAGE STEERING COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on WEDNESDAY, 2 MAY 2018 in CABINET ROOM, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Pages 3 - 4)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business to be conducted at this meeting. (copy enclosed)

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4 MINUTES (Pages 5 - 10)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of the committee held on the 18th December 2017 (copy enclosed).

5 WELSH LANGUAGE STANDARDS (Pages 11 - 14)

To consider a report by the Team Leader - Communications & Campaign Management to provide a briefing on developments with the Welsh Language Standards in Denbighshire (copy enclosed)

6 WELSH LANGUAGE STRATEGY (Pages 15 - 20)

To consider a report by the Team Leader - Communications & Campaign Management to brief the Committee on the Council's Welsh Language Strategy. (copy enclosed).

7 WELSH LANGUAGE OFFICER ROLE

To consider a verbal report by the Team Leader - Communications & Campaign Management to brief the Committee on the new Welsh Language Officer role.

8 EISTEDDFOD YR URDD - UPDATE (Pages 21 - 26)

To consider a report by the Team Leader - Communications & Campaign Management to update the Committee on progress with discussions regarding the National Urdd Eisteddfod returning to the county in 2020 and to outline the resource implications for the Council (copy enclosed)

9 FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 27 - 28)

To consider the Committee's forward work programme (copy enclosed).

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Ellie Chard
Ann Davies
Tony Flynn
Huw Hilditch-Roberts
Paul Penlington
Arwel Roberts

Anton Sampson Tony Thomas Graham Timms Joe Welch Emrys Wynne

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils